Piano Sonata no. 1 in D major "Grande Sonata", Opus 1

For Solo (instrumental or vocal part)

Uploaded on Aug 13, 2019

Dedicated to contemporary classical music composer, Pasquale Toscano. The form of the movements are quite formal: 1st movement is in Sonata form (without repeat), 2nd movement is a Scherzo, 3rd movement is a slow movement in Ternary form (ABA), and 4th movement is in Sonata-Rondo form (ABACABA [C being development]) + Coda. Every movement has an attacca, which makes this work be played in one steady go (quasi una fantasia). This sonata breaks some of the rules of classical music. For example, the Rondo starts in the wrong key but runs to the tonic quickly, the first B section is in the subdominant instead of the dominant, and the last time the B section occurs, this time in the dominant instead of the usual tonic. Every appearance of the A section is different as well.

sonata piano piano sonata d major D major D-Dur d dur major minor sonata form g major scherzo allegro allegro vivace vivace d minor adagio assai adagio assai sad slow music allegretto allegretto vivace

Pages 56
Duration 30:48
Measures 1002
Key signature 2 sharps
Parts 1
Part names Piano
Privacy Everyone can see this score
License Attribution, non-commercial
Show more Show less

This score appears in:

Show more Show less

Your comment