String Quintet in A minor, Opus 2

For String Quintet

Uploaded on Sep 16, 2019

Finally, another work composed, now I can finally rest for a while! Instead of adding another Viola or Cello as the fifth instrument, I decided to add a contrabass instead. Not many quintets include a contrabass, so it was kind of a though decision on whether to keep the contrabass and replace it with an extra Viola or Cello, or to kepp the Contrabass. In the end I decided to keep it. Anyways, enough about that. The quintet consists on five movements (instead of the usual four):
I. Allegro con brio e maestoso (A minor)
II. Adagio affettuoso (C major)
III. Allegretto (A minor)
IV. Intermezzo: Andante espressivo. (A major)
V. Finale. Allegro con brio - Andante con moto - Prestissimo (A minor).
If you listen to the work, you will surely think that the fourth movement is an Introduction to the Allegro (all while being the same movement), but no. They are two different movements, the fourth serving as a short Intermezzo, which leads straight to the fifth movement. A small part of the Intermezzo actually reprises near the end of the fifth movement, which could make yout think even more that this is a single movement, but like I said, they're two different movements. Also, The main reason why this composition replaced my 2nd Piano Sonata as my Opus 2 is because that the third movement is the same as my first movement from the sonata. I couldn't have two different works, both having identical movements, so that's the reason why. Anyways, enough talk. I hope you enjoy listening to this work.

string quintet a minor

Pages 58
Duration 35:09
Measures 1072
Key signature natural
Parts 5
Part names Violin(2), Viola, Cello, Contrabass
Privacy Everyone can see this score
License Attribution, no derivatives
Show more Show less

This score appears in:

Show more Show less

Your comment