Étude Opus 25 No. 9 in G♭ Major

Uploaded on Jul 8, 2013

Étude Opus 25, No. 9 in G♭ major, known as the “Butterfly Étude”, is an étude by Frédéric Chopin. The title “Butterfly” was not given by Chopin (as is true for all Chopin pieces with such titles); however Arthur Friedheim said, “while some titles were superfluous, this one is inadequate”.

Étude Opus 25, No. 9 is a study of staccato - marcato alternations, marked throughout the piece. It is the shortest of the études composed by Chopin, and lasts under a minute played at the indicated tempo. The melody is created by playing a detached octave, then two non-detached octaves. This makes a four-note group, the structure of which is used during the whole piece to convey the melody. This structure of rapid octaves can pose a challenge to the less technically experienced. Another difficulty is in the constant switching of solid octaves to detached octaves. It is much more straightforward to simply play one or the other for the whole piece.

piano Classical Study major flat Etude no no. g Allegro chopin op. 9 Octaves opus op octave Butterfly Dur 25 etyde gess ges g-flat assai

Pages 3
Duration 00:55
Measures 51
Key signature 6 flats
Parts 1
Part names Piano
Privacy Everyone can see this score
License None (All rights reserved)
Show more Show less

This score appears in:

Your comment