Nocturne Opus 9 No. 3 in B Major

5,895views | 33 favorites | 3 comments

Uploaded on Dec 20, 2013

The Nocturnes, Opus 9 are a set of three nocturnes written by Frédéric Chopin between 1830 and 1832 and dedicated to Madame Camille Pleyel. The work was published in 1832.

Nocturne Opus 9 No. 3 is in the ternary form A-B-A. The first section is set to allegretto. The main theme is chromatic, but filled with nostalgic energy. The second contrasting section, Agitato in B minor, is a very dramatic one with a combined melody and counter-melody in the right hand and continuous 8th note arpeggios in the left, which requires an amount of virtuosity. The piece is full of coloratura ornaments, and ends with a wide chord in the left hand accompanied with right hand triplets in a high octave to lead to a legatissimo smorzando adagio (senza tempo).

piano Classical major b minor adagio agitato chopin Allegretto h Nocturne tempo moll ternary Dur senza Szopen Form

Pages 8
Duration 05:16
Measures 159
Key signature 5 sharps
Parts 1
Part names
Privacy Everyone can see this score
License None (All rights reserved)
Show more Show less

This score appears in:

Your comment