Waltz Opus 64, No. 2 in C♯ Minor

Uploaded on Jul 6, 2012

The Waltz in C♯ minor is the second work of Chopin's opus 64 and the companion to the Minute Waltz (Op. 64, No. 1). It was composed in 1847. Chopin dedicated this Waltz to Madame Nathaniel de Rothschild.

It consists of three main themes:
Theme A tempo giusto chordal with a walking pace feel;
Theme B più mosso (faster) — theme stated in running eighth notes, with all harmony in the left hand.
Theme C più lento (slower) — a sostenuto in the tonic major (D♭ major, enharmonic equivalent to C♯ major). Besides the slower general pace, the melody is in quarter notes except for a few flourishes in eighth notes, giving this section the quality of an interlude before the dramatic restatement of Theme B

The overall layout of the piece is A B C B A B. In an orchestrated version, it forms part of the ballet Les Sylphides.

piano Classical c no no. waltz 2 minor sharp chopin 64 op. opus op moll C-sharp Szopen cis ciss

Pages 6
Duration 03:43
Measures 194
Key signature 4 sharps
Parts 1
Part names
Privacy Everyone can see this score
License None (All rights reserved)
Show more Show less

This score appears in:

Your comment



Take part in the beta testing of MuseScore's new mobile apps