Aria from Cantata 78 (BWV 78 Mvt. 4) for Clarinet Trio

Uploaded on Feb 15, 2013

Jesu, der du meine Seele (Jesus, Thou who my soul), BWV 78, is a church cantata of Johann Sebastian Bach. He composed the chorale cantata in Leipzig for the 14th Sunday after Trinity and first performed it on 10 September 1724. It is based on the hymn by Johann Rist.

Bach wrote the cantata in his second year in Leipzig, when he composed an annual cycle of chorale cantatas. For the 14th Sunday after Trinity, 10 September 1724, he chose the chorale of Johann Rist (1641) in 12 stanzas. Rist set the words and probably also the melody

The duet for soprano and alto (Aria Movement 4) speaks of rushing steps, shown predominantly in the figures of the continuo of celli, violone and organ. The recitative begins secco, but ends in an arioso on words of the original chorale. The aria is accompanied by flute motifs to express the relief of the heart.

Although this piece was originally written for Flute, Voice, Cello, Violin and Organ, I arranged it for Clarinet Trio (2 Bb Clarinets & Bass Clarinet). This piece is best played using the "GeneralUser GS.sf2" Soundfont by S. Christian Collins Software (http://www.schristiancollins.com/generaluser.php).


Pages 4
Duration 03:40
Measures 74
Key signature 2 flats
Parts 3
Part names
Privacy Everyone can see this score
License None (All rights reserved)
Show more Show less

This score appears in:

Your comment


Please click on the "VideoScore" link to the right to hear an accurate sound representation of the piece. MuseScore currently does not replicate the Clarinet soundfont correctly on the online site.