Allegro from Concerto in C Minor (BWV 1060) for Oboes & Strings

2,137views | 18 favorites | 0 comments

Uploaded on Feb 23, 2014

The harpsichord concertos, BWV 1052-1065, are concertos for harpsichord, strings and continuo by Johann Sebastian Bach. Of these, there are seven complete concertos for a single harpsichord, (BWV 1052-1058), three concertos for 2 harpsichords (BWV 1060-1062), two concertos for 3 harpsichords (BWV 1063-1064), and one concerto for 4 harpsichords, (BWV 1065).

All of Bach's harpsichord concertos (with the exception of the Brandenburg concerto) are thought to be arrangements made from earlier concertos for melodic instruments probably written in Köthen. In many cases, only the harpsichord version has survived.

While the existing score is in the form of a concerto for harpsichord and strings, Bach scholars believe it to be a transcription of a lost double concerto in D minor; a reconstructed arrangement of this concerto for two violins or violin and oboe is classified as BWV 1060R. The subtle and masterful way in which the solo instruments blend with the orchestra marks this out as one of the most mature works of Bach's years at Köthen. The middle movement is a cantabile for the solo instruments with orchestral accompaniment.

Although this Concerto in C Minor was originally written for 2 Harpsichords and orchestra, I created this arrangement for 2 Oboes and Strings (2 Violins, Viola, Cello & Bass).


Pages 17
Duration 04:28
Measures 179
Key signature 3 flats
Parts 6
Part names Oboe, Strings(5)
Privacy Everyone can see this score
License None (All rights reserved)
Show more Show less

This score appears in:

Your comment