Pachelbel's Canon-original

Uploaded on Aug 11, 2011

Pachelbel's Canon, also known as Canon in D major or Canon and Gigue for 3 violins and basso continuo, is the most famous piece of music by German Baroque composer Johann Pachelbel. It was originally scored for three violins and basso continuo and paired with a gigue in the same key. Like most other works by Pachelbel and other pre-1700 composers, the Canon remained forgotten for centuries and was rediscovered only in the 20th century. Several decades after it was first published in 1919, the piece became extremely popular, and today it is frequently played at weddings and included on classical music compilations, along with other famous Baroque pieces such as Air on the G String by Johann Sebastian Bach.

pachelbel canon

Pages 11
Duration 04:48
Measures 144
Key signature 2 sharps
Parts 4
Part names
Privacy Everyone can see this score
License Attribution
Show more Show less

Your comment