(COMPLETE) Symphony No. 2 D major Op. 24

For Chamber Orchestra

Uploaded on Apr 23, 2016

Ah, the moment you've been waiting for: this symphony is finally finished after 3 years. It was spring 2016 when I started working on this new, pompous symphony. The first movement was done before summer, and on my summer break, I managed to complete both the 2nd and 3rd movement in just two weeks. What I didn't expect was that it'd take me until 2019 to complete the 4th movement that I had started planning out already by then.

There came other, more important projects, and whenever I had time to spare for this project, I always ended up stuck without inspiration. Perhaps this was meant to be since the contrapuntal work that went into the finale surely benefited from the experience I've gained in the past few years. After spending pretty much the entirety of 2018 working on my ballet commission, I finally had the time (and surprisingly, the motivation) to tackle this piece once and for all.

There was one problem, however. My original inspiration for this symphony was Mozart's "Jupiter", and of course that meant a fugal finale. When I started composing this, I couldn't even imagine being able to create something as brilliant as the finale from Jupiter, so I didn't bother elaborately choosing my themes so that they'd be compatible in a similar 5-part fugato Mozart concluded his greatest symphony with. But When the 4th movement was finally coming to an end in late 2018, I knew I just HAD to at least try. And, contrary to all my expectations, it actually worked. In a different, less organised way compared to how Mozart did it, of course, but still, I managed to do it. Note by note, bar by bar, I was more and more baffled by how seamlessly my themes fit together even though I didn't even plan for it. And so, finally my most grandiose work to date was finally completed, 3 years and 14 opus numbers later. I'll have to revise some of the older parts, especially the 1st movement, but for now, I'm just gonna sit back and enjoy not having to think about counterpoint for a long while.

https://app.box.com/s/qvtaiz8f31rh4fkbgmktf7k4ppm6n5f8 Listen to this version which uses GeneralUser GS, Timbres of heaven and Sonatina symphonic orchestra soundfonts! (only 1st-3rd mov. for now)

symphony D major classical mozart style counterpoint fugue fugato

Pages 92
Duration 30:10
Measures 824
Key signature 2 sharps
Parts 12
Part names Flute, Oboe, Clarinet, Bassoon, French Horn, Trumpet, Timpani, Strings(5)
Privacy Everyone can see this score
License Attribution, non-commercial, no derivatives
Show more Show less

This score appears in:

Your comment



Take part in the beta testing of MuseScore's new mobile apps